Slow reading at a writing retreat

Standard

Here’s one scholar’s account of practicing slow scholarship – inspiring!

The Slow Academic

I spent the beginning of this week on a 24 hour retreat with my PhD student, colleague and friend Lilia Mantai. We left our children with their fathers (this deserves a special thanks from me as it coincided with our wedding anniversary) and went to Billabong Retreat. I adored every minute of it. Please note that this post is not sponsored in any way. We paid for the retreat with research funds that I won as a lucky door prize at an early career Christmas in July event. Yes, I am lucky and privileged.

Image result for billabong retreatImage result for billabong retreatImage result for billabong retreat

We practised yoga and meditation. We ate beautiful food. We slept deeply. We read. And we wrote. We are co-authoring a paper on doctoral student and early career academic (ECA) experiences of time pressure. No doubt I will post on that in the future.

Here are some highlights from my contemplative reading on time…

View original post 548 more words

Leave a Reply

